Sunday, September 26, 2010


Big Sky Field Trial Club members have been on a mighty roll for the last month. Austin Turley's reigning BSFTC Dog of the Year, pointer female, Railita, claiming a 1st place in the Wolf Den Amateur All Age Classic in North Dakota. Tom Nygard winning the National Amateur Chicken Championship in Mortlach, Saskatchewan with pointer female, I B Anxious, John Todd winning the Region 9 Amateur Shooting Dog Championship with pointer female, Willow Creek Aunt Peg (a litter-mate to Railita and handled to the Championship by Austin Turley) and Dave Noell winning the Idaho Open Shooting Dog Championship with setter female, Magic City Sunrise. Both of those events held down in American Falls, Idaho just a week ago. As we wind down our club stakes and the Region trials come to a seasonal close we can all think back on our friends and families and thank them for having made it possible for us to participate in this wonderful activity. Thanks to all!

Friday, September 3, 2010

Region 14 Amateur Shooting Dog Championship results

The 2010 Region 14 Amateur Shooting Dog Championship is in the record books. With 54 dogs entered, winning the 2010 inauguration was 3x Champion Lone Mountain Magique, tri-colored, setter female owned and handled by Sean Kelly of Cardston, Alberta. Runner-Up honors were earned by Way Better Rex, black and white, pointer male owned and handled by Carl Bishop from Punxsutawhey, Pennsylvania.

2010 Montana Shooting Dog Championship results

The Montana Open Shooting Dog Championship has concluded at the storied grounds near Circle, Montana. With a field of 63 competing Heaven’s Elhew Taggert came up the 2010 Champion. A white and orange pointer male owned by David J. Gates of Mahtomedi, Minnesota, and handled by Travis Gellhaus. Runner-up Champion resulted in Picking Time, also a white and orange pointer male owned by Chuck Wingard of Blackduck, Minnesota, and handled by Jim Tande.

In the accompanying Montana Open Derby, which had 24 entries, the results were as follows:

1st -  Cassique's Amazing Grace, PF, Doug Ray
2nd - Bad Prairie Dust Storm, PM,  Justin Wiseman
3rd - Hawthorn Showoff, PF, Jim Tande